This is the "General Suggestions" page of the "Research Tips" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Bellarmine University Homepage About Bellarmine University Contact Us BU Email Bellarmine University Sitemap BU Admissions BU Academics BU Athletics BU Campus Life BU Alumni BU Homepage BU YouTube BU Facebook BU Twitter BU Photos

Research Tips  

Research tips that will help you find and evaluate information more effectively and efficiently.
Last Updated: Jan 4, 2013 URL: http://libguides.bellarmine.edu/research_tips Print Guide RSS Updates

General Suggestions Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Suggestions

General Suggestions for Using Article Databases:


 *You should try to use as few keywords in a search as possible. Use the word “and” to link them together, for example:  Teens AND Smoking

 *Mark “Scholarly journals” or “Scholarly (peer reviewed) journals.” You may mark for “full text,” as well.

 *You may limit by dates (for instance, “Published date from…” and put in 2006 or however many years back you’d like to go). See Example

 *Given the option of full text or PDF, your best bet is usually the PDF.

 *It’s useful to check the references at the end of a very good article, as you may find something else useful!

 

 If an article is not full text in the database you’re using, click the Find It? button. If it’s available in another database, it will take you to that article. If not, you may then check to see if we subscribe to it (click “by ISSN”) or order it via Interlibrary Loan (click “Online request form”).

 

Please allow 1.5 to two weeks for an interlibrary loan to arrive.

 

 To find if we have online access to the full text of a particular journal through one of our online databases:

 

*Go to the library home page (www.bellarmine.edu/library)

*Click on “Electronic Journal Finder

*Enter the title of the journal you are interested in finding

*If your journal comes up, look at the dates covered and follow that link!

 

Reference Desk: 502.272.8317 (leave message and we’ll call you back if we’re unable to take your call)

Martha Perry Lundgren - 502.272.8139 M-F daytime

John Boyd - 502.272.8314 M-F daytime

Kevin Peers - 502.272.8315 M-Thursday evening, Friday daytime

Dan Bays – 502.272.8317 Friday evening (when open), Sat. and Sunday

Subject Guide

Profile Image
W.L. Lyons Brown Library - Bellarmine University
Contact Info
Reference Desk
502-272-8317
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip