Reference Resources
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
A
- American Decades Primary Sources (Thomson Gale)
- Provides full or excerpted primary sources in 160-170 entries from each period representing a diversity of views that provide insight into the seminal issues, themes, movements, and events from the decade. It is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Full Text
- A to Z Maps Online
- is the worlds largest subscription-based database of proprietary, royalty-free world, continent, country, and state maps. Included in the 4,000+ maps are: political maps, physical maps, outline maps, population maps, precipitation maps, climate maps, and other thematic maps. New maps are added to the collection every month.
- Return to top.
B
- Biography Reference Bank (EBSCOhost)
- Wilson’s ultimate biography database provides a wide-range of biographical profiles of persons from all disciplines and all time periods.
Full Text - Business First (American City Business Journals)
- In addition to Louisville’s Business First, American City Business Journals (ACBJ) offers the best in local business news from coast to coast. The 40 business newspapers from across the nation include information about regional business activities and trends.
- Full Text
- Return to top.
C
- Choice Reviews Online
- Book and Resource reviews from the ACRL.
- Full Text
- Company Histories (Gale Group)
- A company's history can be just as relevant as its current stock price. Read all about the development of the world's top companies from Acciona to Zomba. Entries include timelines, lists of principal subsidiaries and competitors, and bibliographies for further reading.
- Full Text
- Congressional Digest and Supreme Court Debates
- Provides research and balanced presentation of important debates before Congress, the Supreme Court, and international bodies help you understand the issues and form your own opinions.
- Full Text
- Country Studies
- Country Studies from the Library of Congress. Complete studies of nations from around the world. Includes politics, economics, social conditions and more.
- Full Text
- CountryWatch
- CountryWatch provides up-to-date news and information on each of the recognized countries of the world.
- Full Text
- Courier Journal (ProQuest)
- Louisville Courier-Journal newspaper with full-text articles from 1999 to present.
Full Text - Courier Journal (Digital Microfilm Version) 2008-2011 (most recent two months not available)
- Louisville Courier-Journal newspaper with full-text. Provides PDF full-page version of newspaper.
- Full Text
- CQ Global Researcher (Congressional Quarterly, 2007 - present)
- CQ Researcher in-depth coverage of global affairs from a number of internatioanl viewpoints. .
- Full Text
- CQ Researcher Online (Congressional Quarterly, 1991 - present)
- CQ Researcher contains reports on health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
- Full Text
- CQ Weekly (Congressional Quarterly, 1983 - present)
- CQ Weekly offers in-depth reports on issues looming on the congressional horizon.
- Full Text
- CultureGrams
- CultureGrams includes information on the countries of the world.
- Full Text
D
- Department of State Background Notes
- Background Notes include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations.
Full Text - Dictionary.com
- A variety of dictionaries all in one convenient place.
- Full Text
- Dictionary of American History (Thomson Gale)
- Provides a general reference on a wide range of topics in American history, from the well studied and familiar to the obscure. It is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Full Text
Return to top.
E
- Ebooks from Ebscohost (formerly Netlibrary)
- A collection of ebooks. Read, download and print the full-text of a wide range of books.
Full Text - Ebrary
- A database of over 34,000 ebooks .
- Full Text
- Eighties in America (Salem Press)
- The Eighties in America examines the events and personalities of this pivotal decade. It serves as a valuable information source and offers keen insights for today's students. (Select Eighties in America in the From field)
- Full Text
- Enciclopedia Universal en Español (Encyclopaedia Britannica)
- Enciclopedia Universal en Español is a comprehensive encyclopedia in the Spanish language.
- Full Text
- Encyclopedia Americana (Grolier)
- Encyclopedia Americana is the online version of the print Encyclopedia Americana.
- Full Text
- Encyclopedia Britannica (Encyclopaedia Britannica)
- Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Academic Edition includes articles from the Encyclopaedia Britannica and more.
- Full Text
- Encyclopedia Judaica (Thomson Gale)
- Intended to provide an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary era. It is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Full Text
- Encyclopedia of American Industries (Thomson Gale)
- Business reference encyclopedia providing detailed, comprehensive information on a wide range of industries in every realm of American business. It is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Full Text
- Encyclopedia of Bioethics (Thomson Gale)
- Encyclopedia of Bioethics covers such topics as the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment. It is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Full Text
- Encyclopedia of Clothing & Fashion (Thomson Gale)
- Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion surveys clothing, body adornment, and examines the origins and other aspects of clothing and dress. It is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Full Text
- Encyclopedia of Death and Dying (MacMillan)
- Comprehensive exploration of the place of death in contemporary life. It is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Full Text
- Encyclopedia of Education (Thomson Gale)
- Intended to provide a comprehensive description of the enterprise of education both within the United States and throughout the world. It is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Full Text
- Encyclopedia of Education Law (Thomson Gale)
- Covers a number of essential topics, including: key cases in education law; constitutional issues; key concepts, theories, and legal principles; key statutes; treaties; curricular issues; educational equity; governance; rights of students and teachers; technology; biographies; and organizations.
- Full Text.
- Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration (Thomson Gale)
- Presents the most recent theories, research, terms, concepts, ideas, and histories on educational leadership and school administration as it is taught in preparation programs and practiced in schools and colleges today.
Full Text. - Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture (Thomson Gale)
- Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
Full Text - Encyclopedia of Religion (Thomson Gale)
- Encyclopedia of Religion includes entries and articles on religion. It is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Full Text
- Encyclopedia of Sociology (Thomson Gale)
- Encyclopedia of Sociology includes entries and articles on the field of sociology. It is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Full Text
- Encyclopedia of Science Technology and Ethics (Thomson Gale)
- This encyclopedia considers both the professional ethics of science and technology, and the social, ethical, and political issues raised by science and technology. It is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Full Text
Return to top.
F
- Facts on File Issues & Controversies (1995 - present)
- Facts on File Issues & Controversies is a source of information on many of the most prominent and hotly debated issues of the day, discussing both sides of an issue.
- Full Text
- Facts on File World News Digest (1940 - present)
- Facts on File World News Digest contains complete content from the Facts On File World News Digest and a live newsfeed from Reuters®.
- Full Text
- Fifties in America (Salem Press)
- The Fifties in America surveys the events and people of all of North America during the 1950's (Select Fifties in America in the From field).
- Full Text
- Forties in America (Salem Press)
- The Forties in America examines the iconic personalities and moments of this important decade. With more than 600 articles about films, books, political leaders, events, fads and technology, this three-volume encyclopedia serves as a valuable source of information and keen insights for today's students (Select Forties in America in the From field)
- Full Text.
- Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (EBSCOhost)
- Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics.
- Full Text
Return to top.
G
- Gale Virtual ReferenceLibrary (Thompson Gale))
- A collection of encyclopedias on a wide variety of topics. Great place to start your research.
Linked Full Text. - Guide To Reference
- The “source of first resort” for identifying local materials that answer users’ questions, training reference staff, inventorying and developing reference collections, assisting interlibrary loan staff, and serving as a gateway to the wider repertory of the reference literature.
H
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) (EBSCOhost)
- Reviews of health and psychosocial tests.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCOhost, 1984 - present)
- Health Source: Consumer Edition is a consumer-health database that offers information on many health topics.
- Full Text
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCOhost, 1975 - present)
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides information focusing on many medical disciplines such as nursing and allied health.
- Full Text
- History of the American Cinema (Thomson Gale)
- This encyclopedia considers considers the film industry from its early roots in the 19th century through the 1980s. It is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Full Text
I
- Information Please Almanac (Web)
- Infoplease is a comprehensive reference source that combines the contents of an encyclopedia, a dictionary, an atlas, and several almanacs loaded with statistics, facts, and historical records. A single search engine allows you to search all these sources at once.
Full Text - International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family (Thomson Gale)
- Examines the history of family life within cultures and how families have been affected by political and social change. It is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Full Text
- International Encyclopedia of Sexuality
- The most ambitious and comprehensive cross-cultural sex survey ever undertaken, in any language or part of the world, this three-volume encyclopedia summarizes the sexual attitudes and behavior patterns of thirty-two countries.
- Return to top.
K
- Kentucky Encyclopedia
- The Kentucky Encyclopedia covers subjects in all areas of the commonwealth.
- Full Text
- Kentucky Virtual Library (KYVL)
- Kentucky Virtual Library (KYVL) provides access to databases that are for Kentuckians and Kentucky institutions' students/faculty.
L
- LexisNexis/Academic Universe
- LexisNexis/Academic Universe provides news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications.
- Full Text
- LitFinder (Thomson Gale)
- LitFinder provides access to poems, stories, plays and more.
- Full Text
M
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print (EBSCOhost, 1989 - present)
- Provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments.
- Mergent Online
- Mergent Online includes U.S. company data, archives, annual reports, fact sheets and North American Industry Reports.
- Full Text
- Merriam-Websters Online Dictionary & Thesaurus
- Merriam-Websters Dictionary & Thesaurus available on the web. It is also accessible via the Encyclopædia Britannica web site.
- Full Text
- Milestone Documents in American History (Salem Press)
- Milestone Documents in American History combines 130 full-text primary source documents with expert analysis and commentary (Select Milelstone Documents in American History in the From field).
Full Text - Micromedex HealthCare (Thomson Gale)
- Micromedex Healthcare provides a range of clinical databases.
- Full Text
- MLA Directory of Periodicals (ProQuest, 1926 - present)
- The MLA Directory of Periodicals produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) contains information available on the journals and series that are covered in the MLA International Bibliography database.
Linked Full Text - Return to top.
N
- New Catholic Encyclopedia (Thomson Gale)
- Provides scholarly presentation of persons and subjects related to Catholicism, from the well studied and familiar to the obscure. It is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Full Text
- New York Times Current (ProQuest, 1980 - present)
- New York Times Historical (ProQuest, 1851 - 2007)
- The New York Times since 1851. Scroll to bottom of page for access to this title.
- Full Text
- Nineties in America (Salem Press)
- The Nineties in America examines the iconic personalities and moments of this important decade. With more than 600 articles about films, books, political leaders, events, fads and technology, encyclopedia serves as a valuable source of information and keen insights for today's students (Select Nineties in America in the From field)
- Full Text
Return to top.
O
- Occupational Outlook Handbook
- The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. The Handbook is revised every two years.
- Full Text
- Oxford Reference Online
- Oxford Reference Online contains language and subject reference works.
- Full Text
Return to top.
R
- Resources for College Libraries
- Lists core titles in curriculum specific subjects.
- Full Text
- Return to top.
S
- Salem Health - Psychology and Mental Health (Salem Press)
- Basically a psychology encyclopedia, this database covers notable theories, people, social issues, life stages, the physiology and anatomy of the nervous system, and various mental illnesses or conditions.
- Full Text
- Salem History (Salem Press)
- Salem History Provides access to several sets of reference resources. Milestone Documents - A new, primary source series and The Decades - Salem's critically acclaimed American history series.
- Full Text
- Serials Solutions
- Serials Solutions offers a way to see if our library has electronic access to the full text of various journals.
- Seventies in America (Salem Press)
- The Seventies in America features both longer overviews and shorter entries discussing people, books, films, television series, musical groups, and other important topics. Every entry focuses on a topic or person during the 1970s (Select Seventies in America in the From field)
- Full Text
- Sixties in America (Salem Press)
- The Sixties in America, surveys the events and people of the 1960's, a turbulent decade that had a profound and lasting effect on the life and culture of the United States (Select Sixties in America in the From field).
- Full Text
- Return to top.
T
- Thirties in America (Salem Press)
- The Thirties in America examines the iconic personalities and moments of this important decade. With more than 600 articles about films, books, political leaders, events, fads and technology, this three-volume encyclopedia serves as a valuable source of information and keen insights for today's students (Select Thirties in America in the From field)
- Full Text.
- TopicSearch (EBSCOhost)
- TopicSearch is a current events database covering social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms.
- Full Text
- Twenty-First Century Education (Thomson Gale))
- Highlights the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates any student obtaining a degree in the field of education ought to have mastered for effectiveness in the 21st century.
Full Text.
W
- Wall Street Journal from ABI/Inform (ProQuest, 1971- present)
- Provides searchable access to the full text of the Wall Street Journal. It does not provide stock quote information.
- Full Text
- WorldCat (FirstSearch)
- WorldCat is the online OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide.
- Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life (Thomson Gale)
- Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life covers cultural groups in Asia, Europe, the Americas and Africa. Each volume is organized for quick reference by continent, cover history, politics, customs, religion, education, human rights issues, teen life and much more for culture groups such as Kurds, Amish, Germans and more than 500 others.
Full Text. - Return to top.
- Z
- Zanran
- Zanran helps you to find statistics and statistical data on the web. This is the numerical data that people have presented as graphs, tables and charts.
Return to top.
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |



Loading...
