- American Decades Primary Sources 1900-1999 (Thomson Gale)
Provides full or excerpted primary sources in 160-170 entries from each period representing a diversity of views that provide insight into the seminal issues, themes, movements, and events from the decade. It is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Back to TopC
- Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities
The Directory assists you in selecting those journals that are most likely to publish your manuscript.
- Corporate Disasters
Profiles the biggest corporate mistakes or misdeeds throughout history, covering the people, the times, the decisions made.
Back to TopD
- Dictionary of American History (Thomson Gale)
Provides a general reference on a wide range of topics in American history, from the well studied and familiar to the obscure. It is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Back to TopE
- Eighties in America (Salem Press)
The Eighties in America examines the events and personalities of this pivotal decade. It serves as a valuable information source and offers keen insights for today's students.
- Encyclopaedia Judaica (Thomson Gale)
Intended to provide an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary era. It is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History
A five-volume set and supplement covering all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present day. Using biographies, historical essays, and thematic pieces, many written by foremost scholars, it addresses a wide array of subjects in over 2,300 articles to define in one source the cultural roots, participation in American life, and current condition of the African-American community..
- Encyclopedia of American Industries (Thomson Gale)
A business reference encyclopedia providing detailed, comprehensive information on a wide range of industries in every realm of American business. It is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Encyclopedia of American Law
Covers today's leading cases, major statutes, legal terms and concepts, notable persons involved with the law, and important documents. Includes topics such as the Americans with Disabilities Act, capital punishment, domestic violence, gay and lesbian rights, physician-assisted suicide and more.
- Encyclopedia of American Religions
Comprehensive coverage of more than 2,300 North American religious groups in the U.S. and Canada -- from Adventists to Zen Buddhists. Information is presented in two distinct sections, essays and directory listings describing the historical development of religious families and providing factual information about each group within those families. Includes, when available, rubrics for membership figures, educational facilities and periodicals.
- Encyclopedia of Bioethics (Thomson Gale)
Encyclopedia of Bioethics covers such topics as the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment. It is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Encyclopedia of Business and Finance
Encyclopedia of Business and Finance is a 2-vol. complete reference covering five general areas: finance and banking; accounting; marketing; management; and information systems.
- Encyclopedia of Clothing & Fashion (Thomson Gale)
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion surveys clothing, costume and fashion, and examines the origins and other aspects of clothing and dress. It is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Encyclopedia of Death and Dying (MacMillan)
Comprehensive exploration of the place of death in contemporary life. It is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol & Addictive Behavior
Explores the social, medical, legal and political issues related to drugs and alcohol and associated behaviors. Includes emerging topics and developments in the many fields of addiction studies.
- Encyclopedia of Education (Thomson Gale)
Intended to provide a comprehensive description of the enterprise of education both within the United States and throughout the world. It is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Encyclopedia of Education Law (Thomson Gale)
Covers a number of essential topics, including: key cases in education law; constitutional issues; key concepts, theories, and legal principles; key statutes; treaties; curricular issues; educational equity; governance; rights of students and teachers; technology; biographies; and organizations.
- Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration (Thomson Gale)
Presents the most recent theories, research, terms, concepts, ideas, and histories on educational leadership and school administration as it is taught in preparation programs and practiced in schools and colleges today.
- Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy
Examines the philosophical and ethical issues underlying contemporary and historical environmental issues, policies, and debates. Covers concepts, institutions, topics, events and people, including global warming, animal rights, environmental movements, alternative energy, green chemistry, industrial ecology, and eco-sabotage.
- Encyclopedia of Fitness
Covers 300 topics on physiology and fitness, including coverage of Healthy People 2010/2020, the nationwide initiative sponsored by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services to improve the nation's health, as well as topics on diseases and conditions related to fitness.
- Encyclopedia of India
A four-volume survey of the history, cultures, geography and religions of India from ancient times to the present day. Includes more than 600 entries, arranged alphabetically. For students and general readers.
- Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture (Thomson Gale)
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
- Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns
An annual publication that profiles important marketing campaigns of the 20th century.
- Encyclopedia of Management
Covers numerous topics in management theories and applications, such as aggregate planning, benchmarking, logistics, diversification strategy, non-traditional work arrangements, performance measurement, productivity measures, supply chain management, and much more.
- Encyclopedia of Modern China
Provides critical information on the most populous country and most dynamic trade market in the world: the people, politics, economics, religion, philosophy, traditions, art, and literature of this ancient and enduring civilization are explored from the beginning of the nineteenth century to the present day.
- Encyclopedia of Psychology
This single-volume, accessible resource covers the entire spectrum of psychology, including: notable people, theories and terms; landmark case studies and experiments; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information. More than 650 articles -- 65% of those are entirely new or updated since the last edition.
- Encyclopedia of Public Health
Topics include diseases and conditions, health and wellness efforts, nutrition, ethics and law related topics and statistics, sanitation issues, and everyday environmental effects.
- Encyclopedia of Religion (Thomson Gale)
Encyclopedia of Religion includes entries and articles on religion. It is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Encyclopedia of Science, Technology and Ethics (Thomson Gale)
This encyclopedia considers both the professional ethics of science and technology, and the social, ethical, and political issues raised by science and technology. It is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Encyclopedia of Sleep and Dreams
This reference covers the major topics concerning dreaming and sleep, based on the latest empirical evidence from sleep research as well as drawn from a broad range of dream-related interdisciplinary contexts, including history and anthropology.
- Encyclopedia of Sociology (Thomson Gale)
Encyclopedia of Sociology includes entries and articles on the field of sociology. It is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Encyclopedia of the American Constitution
Contains new and updated original articles covering recent concepts (i.e. adoption, race, the Constitution, birthright citizenship) and court cases since 1992 offering comprehensive coverage of all aspects of constitutional law, as well as biographies of people who have had an impact on our government's legal framework (Supreme Court Justices, Presidents, Cabinet Members, Lawyers, and more). Also covers judicial decisions handed down by the Supreme Court.
- Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court of the United States
Focuses on the substance of American law, the processes that produce its legal principles, and the history of the Supreme Court, from its creation to the present. Overview essays address the history of such topics as citizenship, due process, Native Americans, racism, and contraception, emphasizing the social context of each and the social and political pressures that shaped interpretation.
Back to TopF
- Fifties in America (Salem Press)
The Fifties in America surveys the events and people of all of North America during the 1950's.
- Forties in America (Salem Press)
The Forties in America examines the iconic personalities and moments of this important decade. With more than 600 articles about films, books, political leaders, events, fads and technology, this three-volume encyclopedia serves as a valuable source of information and keen insights for today's students.
Back to TopH
- History of the American Cinema (Thomson Gale)
This encyclopedia considers the film industry from its early roots in the 19th century through the 1980s. It is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Human Geography: People and the Environment
Provides insight into both regional and global issues by addressing fundamental and advanced topics critical to the study of human geography and places special emphasis on exploring the impact of human habitation and economic activity on the environment.
Back to TopI
- International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family (Thomson Gale)
Examines the history of family life within cultures and how families have been affected by political and social change. It is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- International Encyclopedia of Sexuality
The Continuum Complete International Encyclopedia of Sexuality is the foremost reference work on sexual behavior throughout the world. Written by more than 200 leading sexologists in their respective countries and cultures, each lengthy entry explores such areas as heterosexual relationships, children, adolescents, adults, gender-conflicted persons, unconventional sexual patterns, contraception, sexually transmitted diseases, AIDS, sexual dysfunctions, and therapies.
- International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
Covers scholarship and fields that have emerged and matured since the publication of the original international edition. Highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features new articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences.
Back to TopK
- Kentucky Encyclopedia
The Kentucky Encyclopedia covers subjects in all areas of the commonwealth.
Back to TopM
- Magill's Literary Annual (Salem Press)
Evaluates 200 major examples of serious literature published during the previous calendar year. Covers works of interest to general readers.
- Milestone Documents in African American History (Salem Press)
African American history is an integral part of the American story. Milestone Documents in African American History explores the key documents in this heritage, including court cases, presidential and legislative initiatives, and speeches from figures such as Martin Luther King, Jr., Frederick Douglass, Booker T. Washington, and Barack Obama.
- Milestone Documents in American History (Salem Press)
Milestone Documents in American History combines 130 full-text primary source documents with expert analysis and commentary (Select Milelstone Documents in American History in the From field).
- Milestone Documents of American Leaders (Salem Press)
The second title in the groundbreaking Milestone Documents series, Milestone Documents of American Leaders offers a unique biographical approach to the study of primary source documents (Select Milelstone Documents of American Leaders in the From field).
Back to TopN
- New Catholic Encyclopedia (Thomson Gale)
Provides a scholarly presentation of persons and subjects related to Catholicism, from the well studied and familiar to the obscure. It is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- New Encyclopedia of Africa
Addresses the entire history of African cultures from the pharaohs and the ancient civilizations of the south through the colonial era to the emergence of 53 independent countries, some of them newly emergent in world commerce and others deep in conflict. Covers issues facing the continent such as global development, the AIDS crisis, and international terrorism.
- Nineties in America (Salem Press)
The Nineties in America examines the iconic personalities and moments of this important decade. With more than 600 articles about films, books, political leaders, events, fads and technology, this three-volume encyclopedia serves as a valuable source of information and keen insights for today's students.
Back to TopO
- Psychology and Mental Health Guide (Salem Press)
Basically a psychology encyclopedia, this database covers notable theories, people, social issues, life stages, the physiology and anatomy of the nervous system, and various mental illnesses or conditions.
Back to TopS
- Salem History (Salem Press)
Salem History provides access to several sets of reference resources. Milestone Documents - A new, primary source series and The Decades - Salem's critically acclaimed American history series.
- Seventies in America (Salem Press)
The Seventies in America features both longer overviews and shorter entries discussing people, books, films, television series, musical groups, and other important topics. Every entry focuses on a topic or person during the 1970s.
- Sixties in America (Salem Press)
The Sixties in America, surveys the events and people of the 1960's, a turbulent decade that had a profound and lasting effect on the life and culture of the United States.
Back to TopT
- Thirties in America (Salem Press)
The Thirties in America examines the iconic personalities and moments of this important decade. With more than 600 articles about films, books, political leaders, events, fads and technology, this three-volume encyclopedia serves as a valuable source of information and keen insights for today's students.
- Twenty-First Century Education (Thomson Gale)
Highlights the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates any student obtaining a degree in the field of education ought to have mastered for effectiveness in the 21st century.
Back to TopW
- Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life (Thomson Gale)
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life covers cultural groups in Asia, Europe, the Americas and Africa. Each volume is organized for quick reference by continent, cover history, politics, customs, religion, education, human rights issues, teen life and much more for culture groups such as Kurds, Amish, Germans and more than 500 others.
- Worldmark Encyclopedia of U.S. and Canadian Environmental Issues
Covers the environmental issues for each U.S. state and Canadian province. Essays include an introduction that describes the geographical and geological features of the state/province, information on how global climate change could affect the state/province and its inhabitants, information on natural resources, energy, Green Economy, Green Jobs, and Green Building, and a special section that covers a major environmental topic in each state/province.
Back to Top