The resources below will help you locate information on nursing issues with patients from other cultures.
Last Updated: Sep 15, 2016
Find background information on nations of the world. These resources include history, political, economic, religious, social, family and health conditions and practices.
- A to Z The World
Information on all of the countries of the world. Information such as business culture, health, culture and society, religion and other topics are included. A great way to get to know other peoples in other nations.
- Countries and Their Cultures
Presents the cultural similarities within a country that set it apart from others by examining over 200 countries to document the myriad ways in which culture defines and separates the nations of the world as much as geographical borders do. Surveys each country's shared values, behaviors and cultural variations from foods and rituals to pastimes and arts, using a standard entry format for easy comparison.
CountryWatch provides up-to-date news and information on each of the recognized countries of the world.
CultureGrams includes cultural information on the countries of the world. History, customs, cultural behavior are some of the featured topics.
**Select "World Edition"
- Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America contains 152 original essays (about 8,000-12,000 words each) on specific minority and ethnic groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns.
- Gale Encyclopedia of World Cultures
This reference set lists and describes more than 1,500 global cultures. Based on research of social scientists, it is the source for historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on virtually every existing culture.
- Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life covers cultural groups in Asia, Europe, the Americas and Africa. Each volume is organized for quick reference by continent, cover history, politics, customs, religion, education, human rights issues, teen life and much more for culture groups such as Kurds, Amish, Germans and more than 500 others.
- Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices provides information on current religious practices around the world with an emphasis on how religions impact the daily lives of their followers.