Web sites for locating information on issues facing countries around the globe.
Last Updated: Aug 30, 2012
Find background information on nations of the world. These resources include history, political, economic, religious, social, family and health conditions and practices.
- Country Profiles from Facts on File (Bellarmine Students Only)
Facts on File: Country Profiles contains concise information and statistics on population, geography, government, economy, and history. Each Country Profile links to articles on recent news events and the World Almanac Encyclopedia.
- Country Profiles (Recent)
Country profiles from the Library of Congress. Brief studies include information on nations from around the world. Highlights include politics, economics, social conditions and more.
- Country Studies (Historical)
Country Studies are from the Library of Congress. Complete studies of nations from around the world. Information includes politics, economics, social conditions and more.
- Country Watch (Bellarmine Students Only)
Country Watch povides up-to-date news and information on each of the recognized countries of the world.
- CultureGrams (Bellarmine Students Only)
CultureGrams includes cultural information on the countries of the world. History, customs, cultural behavior are some of the featured topics.
- Department of State Background Notes
Background Notes include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations.
- Gale Encyclopedia of World Cultures (Bellarmine Students Only)
This reference set lists and describes more than 1,500 global cultures. Based on research of social scientists, it is the source for historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on virtually every existing culture.
- Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life (Bellarmine Students Only)
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life covers cultural groups in Asia, Europe, the Americas and Africa. Each volume is organized for quick reference by continent, cover history, politics, customs, religion, education, human rights issues, teen life and much more for culture groups such as Kurds, Amish, Germans and more than 500 others.