Library resources and databases for finding industry information
Last Updated: Sep 14, 2016
- CSI Market Research (Classification Sectors and Industries)
Profile information of publicly traded comapanies, description of businesses, products, markets, segments. Employees, industry classification and brief company history.
- Encyclopedia of American Industries
(Thomson Gale) Business reference encyclopedia providing detailed, comprehensive information on a wide range of industries in every realm of American business. Enter an industry name into the search box.
- Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries
Provides information about the inception, emergence and current status of new and established industries and business segments that are pioneering new technologies, introducing break-through marketing strategies or implementing innovative means of serving new markets.
- First Research (formerly Hoover's First Research)
First Research provides industry profiles. It profiles 900 Industry Segments, updated constantly with monthly statistics and indicators as well as quarterly trend updates.
- Industries at a Glance - Bureau of Labor Statistics
Over 100 industry pages are available. Data provided includes employment trends, hours, earnings and productivity.
- MarketLine Industry Profiles in Business Source Premier
Enter an industry into the first box (for example, beverage). In the second box, enter"industry profile" Add United States to the third box. Marketline Industry profiles present detailed information and statistics for hundreds of industries both domestic and foreign.
- Mergent Online
Mergent Online includes U.S. company data, archives, annual reports, fact sheets and North American Industry Reports. (For industry reports, click the blue tab labeled Industry Analysis. In the Search by Industry box, select the industry in which you are interested, scroll to bottom of page and click search.)
- Mintel Market Research
Market research reports including infographics, databooks, practical analysis, and recommendations for marketing strategies in business to consumer industries as well as consumer demographic groups. Also has industry reports spanning the consumer product sectors, including market conditions like market size and share, forecasts, trends, consumer insights, social media, and industry innovation to give you the full story of each industry.
- National Industry-Specific Occupational Employment and Wage Estimates
Click on the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) industry code and title to see national OES occupational employment and wage estimates for that industry.
- Occupational Outlook Handbook
Find information on jobs including median pay, number of jobs, job outlook, etc.
- Standard & Poor's Net Advantage
Detailed descriptions of companies, industries, and mutual funds. Company information includes a description of the company, stocks & bond issues, earnings estimates, dividend and split history and more.
The Industry Surveys cover industry trends, forecasts, major players and market share data, key ratios, and statistics. Select the Industries tab to get a selection of the international industry surveys.
- Statista (Statistical Data)
Statista Inc. is the leading statistics company on the internet. With a team of over 80 statisticians, database experts, analysts, and editors, Statista provides users with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information.