Last Updated: Jan 13, 2017
- American Decades: 1920s
- American Decades Primary Resources: 1920-1929
- Encyclopedia of Clothing & Fashion
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion surveys clothing, costume and fashion, and examines the origins and other aspects of clothing and dress. It is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History
A five-volume set and supplement covering all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present day. Using biographies, historical essays, and thematic pieces, many written by foremost scholars, it addresses a wide array of subjects in over 2,300 articles to define in one source the cultural roots, participation in American life, and current condition of the African-American community..
- Encyclopedia of American Law
Covers today's leading cases, major statutes, legal terms and concepts, notable persons involved with the law, and important documents. Includes topics such as the Americans with Disabilities Act, capital punishment, domestic violence, gay and lesbian rights, physician-assisted suicide and more.
- Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
Entries cover topics and persons in major areas of popular culture: film; music; print culture; social life; sports; television and radio; and art and performance
- Encyclopedia of Race and Racism
Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences.
These resources will help you find background information on your novel and author.
- Literature and Its Times
Provides in-depth commentary on characters, themes, and the historical and social context of 300 most-studied literary works.
- Literature Criticism Online
The largest curated online collection of literary criticism in the world. Includes children's literature, poetry, short stories and Shakespearean Criticism.
- LIterary Reference Center Plus
This comprehensive, full-text database provides the most relevant information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes—to give students, professors, and researchers a complete foundation of literary reference works to meet any and all of their research needs.