- A to Z Maps Online
is the world's largest subscription-based database of proprietary, royalty-free world, continent, country, and state maps. Included in the 4,000+ maps are: political maps, physical maps, outline maps, population maps, precipitation maps, climate maps, and other thematic maps. New maps are added to the collection every month.
- A to Z The World
Information on all of the countries of the world. Information such as business culture, health, culture and society, religion and other topics are included. A great way to get to know other peoples in other nations.
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost, 1975 - present)
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study.
- Afro American Newspapers
An extensive collection of digitally archived issues of four Afro-American newspapers. The Afro-American Ledger (1906-1917), Washington Afro-American (1938-1988), The Afro-American (1902-1957), and the Baltimore Afro-American (1943-2003).
- American Decades Primary Sources (Gale)
Provides full or excerpted primary sources in 160-170 entries from each period representing a diversity of views that provide insight into the seminal issues, themes, movements, and events from the decade. It is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Biography Reference Bank (EBSCOhost)
Wilson’s ultimate biography database provides a wide-range of biographical profiles of persons from all disciplines and all time periods.
- Country Profiles (Recent)
Country profiles from the Library of Congress. Brief studies of nations from around the world. Includes politics, economics, social conditions and more.
- Country Studies (Historical)
Country Studies from the Library of Congress. Complete studies of nations from around the world. Includes politics, economics, social conditions and more.
CountryWatch provides up-to-date news and information on each of the recognized countries of the world.
CultureGrams includes cultural information on the countries of the world. History, customs, cultural behavior are some of the featured topics.
- Department of State Background Notes
Background Notes include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations.
- Dictionary of American History (Gale)
Provides a general reference on a wide range of topics in American history, from the well studied and familiar to the obscure. It is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)
Full text version of ProQuests dissertation abstracts; it contains dissertations and theses from institutions in North America and Europe.
- Ebooks from EBSCOhost
A collection of academic ebooks. Read, download and print the full-text of a wide range of books. Click here
for instructions on how to download EBSCOhost eBooks to you iPad.
Read, download and print the full-text of a wide range of books. Click here
for instructions on how to download ebrary books to you iPad.
- Eighties in America (Salem Press)
The Eighties in America examines the events and personalities of this pivotal decade. It serves as a valuable information source and offers keen insights for today's students. (Select Eighties in America in the From field)
- Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History
A five-volume set and supplement covering all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present day. Using biographies, historical essays, and thematic pieces, many written by foremost scholars, it addresses a wide array of subjects in over 2,300 articles to define in one source the cultural roots, participation in American life, and current condition of the African-American community..
- Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture (Gale)
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
- European Views of the Americas (EBSCOhost)
European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750 is a database based on the authoritative bibliography "European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed in Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750."
- Facts on File World News Digest (1940 - present)
Facts on File World News Digest contains complete content from the print Facts On File World News Digest and a live newsfeed from Reuters®.
- Fifties in America (Salem Press)
The Fifties in America surveys the events and people of all of North America during the 1950's (Select Fifties in America in the From field).
- Forties in America (Salem Press)
The Forties in America examines the iconic personalities and moments of this important decade. With more than 600 articles about films, books, political leaders, events, fads and technology, this three-volume encyclopedia serves as a valuable source of information and keen insights for today's students (Select Forties in America in the From field)
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (Thompson Gale)
A collection of encyclopedias on a wide variety of topics. Great place to start your research.
Linked Full Text
- Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
- History of the American Cinema (Gale)
This encyclopedia considers the film industry from its early roots in the 19th century through the 1980s. It is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Internet Archive
Download free books and texts. The Internet Archive Text Archive contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books. Full Text
JSTOR provides access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in a variety of academic disciplines.
- Kentucky Encyclopedia
The Kentucky Encyclopedia covers subjects in all areas of the commonwealth.
- LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Academic provides news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications.
- Magill's Literary Annual (Salem Press)
Evaluates 200 major examples of serious literature published during the previous calendar year. Covers works of interest to general readers.
- Milestone Documents in African American History (Salem Press)
African American history is an integral part of the American story. Milestone Documents in African American History explores the key documents in this heritage, including court cases, presidential and legislative initiatives, and speeches from figures such as Martin Luther King, Jr., Frederick Douglass, Booker T. Washington, and Barack Obama.
- Milestone Documents in American History (Salem Press)
Milestone Documents in American History combines 130 full-text primary source documents with expert analysis and commentary (Select Milelstone Documents in American History in the From field).
- Milestone Documents of American Leaders (Salem Press)
The second title in the groundbreaking Milestone Documents series, Milestone Documents of American Leaders offers a unique biographical approach to the study of primary source documents (Select Milelstone Documents of American Leaders in the From field).
- Military & Government Collection (EBSCOhost, 1975 - present)
Military & Government Collection is designed to offer current news pertaining to the military.
- New York Times Historical (ProQuest, 1851 - 2007)
Comprehensive digital coverage back to 1851 is available for this internationally renowned U.S. newspaper through the ProQuest database. The New York Times is considered the official U.S. newspaper because it publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches, and presidential press conferences. The paper's reporters have won scores of Pulitzer Prizes throughout the publication's 150-year history.
- Nineties in America (Salem Press)
The Nineties in America examines the iconic personalities and moments of this important decade. With more than 600 articles about films, books, political leaders, events, fads and technology, this three-volume encyclopedia serves as a valuable source of information and keen insights for today's students.
- Oxford Bibliographies - Atlantic History Resources
Atlantic history is a fast developing field of historical inquiry that operates upon new assumptions about how to understand the remarkable nature of interactions between different peoples and cultures on four continents and many islands in the period between Columbus’ voyages to the New World in the late fifteenth century and the end of slavery in the Americas in the late nineteenth century. Oxford Bibliographies provides articles written by a range of scholars from numerous countries representing the best in scholarship now available.
- Oxford Reference Online
In Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection you will find a wealth of facts, figures, definitions, and translations from 175+ Oxford reference titles, many of which are in-depth, scholarly articles from titles in the acclaimed Oxford Companions series, plus all 20,000 quotations from the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations.
- Project Muse
Over 300 humanities and social sciences journals from non-profit academic publishers.
- ProQuest Research Library
From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library™ provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,000 titles - over 3,500 in full text - from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
- Salem History (Salem Press)
Salem History Provides access to several sets of reference resources. Milestone Documents - A new, primary source series and The Decades - Salem's critically acclaimed American history series.
- Seventies in America (Salem Press)
The Seventies in America features both longer overviews and shorter entries discussing people, books, films, television series, musical groups, and other important topics. Every entry focuses on a topic or person during the 1970s.
- Sixties in America (Salem Press)
The Sixties in America, surveys the events and people of the 1960's, a turbulent decade that had a profound and lasting effect on the life and culture of the United States.
- Thirties in America (Salem Press)
The Thirties in America examines the iconic personalities and moments of this important decade. With more than 600 articles about films, books, political leaders, events, fads and technology, this three-volume encyclopedia serves as a valuable source of information and keen insights for today's students.
- WorldCat (FirstSearch)
WorldCat is the online OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other material. It allows you to search the holdings of other local libraries and well as libraries in other cities and states.
- Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life (Gale)
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life covers cultural groups in Asia, Europe, the Americas and Africa. Each volume is organized for quick reference by continent, cover history, politics, customs, religion, education, human rights issues, teen life and much more for culture groups such as Kurds, Amish, Germans and more than 500 others.