This is the "Home" page of the "Google Scholar" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Bellarmine University Homepage About Bellarmine University Contact Us BU Email Bellarmine University Sitemap BU Admissions BU Academics BU Athletics BU Campus Life BU Alumni BU Homepage BU YouTube BU Facebook BU Twitter BU Photos

Google Scholar  

Using Google Scholar to find scholarly articles available in the library's databases.
Last Updated: Jun 29, 2012 URL: http://libguides.bellarmine.edu/googlescholar Print Guide
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Configuring Google Scholar

How to Configure Google Scholar

Most of us have used Google as a starting place for research on the Internet.  It can provide many useful information sources and many other leads to information not freely available on the Internet.  You might not be aware of Google Scholar (http://scholar.google.com) which is another search tool available from Google.  Google Scholar provides more focused, scholarly and academically-oriented search results such as full-text documents, links to scholarly articles either free or for a fee, book citations (some full-text if out of copyright).

The Google Scholar search interface looks like this:

Google Scholar also has the ability to connect you with full-text documents that are included in the Bellarmine Library's subscription services like Ebscohost and ProQuest. If you are searching Google Scholar from an on-campus computer, this will be done for you automatically. If you are searching from an off-campus computer, you must configure Google Scholar to connect to Bellarmine Library's resources.

Configuring Google Scholar for off-campus use

Search results from a Google Scholar search will look like the following:

The above results give no indication as to availibility through the Bellarmine library databases. Now look at the following results:

The above results indicate the documents circled in red are availible through Bellarmine Library databases

To configure your off-campus computer to identify articles availible through the Bellarmine Library databases, connect to Google Scholar at www.scholar.google.com and click on the Settings button at the upper-right of screen.

On the Google Scholar Settings page, look for the Library Links search box. Type Bellarmine University and click Find Library.  You should then see a Bellarmine University Library - Full-Text @ Bellarmine checkbox like this: :

Make sure the Bellarmine University Library box is checked and the click the blue Save button.

Now when you run a search on Google Scholar, the Full-Text @ Bellarmine phrase will appear next to any item accessible through the Bellarmine Llibrary databases.  You will still need to use your Bellarmine network ID and password when prompted.  The following screen will appear:

Subject Guide

Profile Image
W.L. Lyons Brown Library - Bellarmine University
Contact Info
Reference Desk
502-272-8317
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip