English Resources
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost, 1975 - present)Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study.
Full Text - Dictionaries (Dictionary.com)Dictionary.com is a multi-source dictionary search service produced by Dictionary.com, LLC. Among dictionaries included are the American Heritage Dictionary and the Random House Dictionary.
Full Text - Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)Full text version of ProQuests dissertation abstracts; it contains dissertations and theses from institutions in North America and Europe.
Full Text - Ebooks from Ebscohost (formerly Netlibrary)A collection of academic ebooks. Read, download and print the full-text of a wide range of books.
Full Text - EbraryA database of over 34,000 electronic books.
Full Text - Google ScholarGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
- JSTORJSTOR provides access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in a variety of academic disciplines.
Full Text - Literary Reference Center (EBSCOhost, 1967 - present)A comprehensive literary reference database, which provides users with a broad spectrum of reference information from antiquity to the present day.
Full Text - Literary Reference Center Deluxe Interface(EBSCOhost, 1967 - present)A comprehensive literary reference database, which provides users with a broad spectrum of reference information from antiquity to the present day.
Full Text - LitFinder (Thomson Gale)LitFinder provides access to poems, stories, plays and more.
Full Text - Magill's Literary Annual (Salem Press)Evaluates 200 major examples of serious literature published during the previous calendar year. Covers works of interest to general readers.
Full Text - Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary & ThesaurusThe Merriam-Webster Dictionary & Thesaurus available on the web. It is also accessible via the Encyclopædia Britannica web site.
Full Text - MLA Directory of Periodicals (ProQuest, 1926 - present)The MLA Directory of Periodicals produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) contains information available on the journals and series that are covered in the MLA International Bibliography database.
Linked Full Text - MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest, 1926 - present)MLA International Bibliography contains a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations covering various literature-related disciplines.
Linked Full Text - Novelist (EBSCOhost)NoveList, a readers' advisory service, not only provides access to information on 155,000 fiction titles, but it also offers a wide range of feature content that will expand your staff's ability to serve fiction readers of all ages and increase the reach of your library's program including author read-alikes, book discussion guides, reading lists and more.
- Online Etymology DictionaryEtymologies are not definitions; they're explanations of what our words meant and how they sounded 600 or 2,000 years ago.
Full Text - Oxford English DictionaryThe Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
Full Text - Oxford Reference OnlineIn Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection you will find a wealth of facts, figures, definitions, and translations from 175+ Oxford reference titles, many of which are in-depth, scholarly articles from titles in the acclaimed Oxford Companions series, plus all 20,000 quotations from the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations.
- Project MuseOver 300 humanities and social sciences journals from non-profit academic publishers.
Full Text - ProQuest Research LibraryFrom business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library™ provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,000 titles - over 3,500 in full text - from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
Full Text - Roget's International ThesaurusFind words and phrases to make your writing sound more professional.
Full Text - Word OriginsWordorigins.org is devoted to the origins of words and phrases, or as a linguist would put it, to etymology. Etymology is the study of word origins.
Full Text - WorldCat (FirstSearch)WorldCat is the online OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other material. It allows you to search the holdings of other local libraries and well as libraries in other cities and states.
Comments (0)
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |



Loading...
