Last Updated: Feb 20, 2015
Find background information on nations of the world. These resources include history, political, economic, religious, social, family and health conditions and practices.
- ProQuest - All Databases
ProQuest provides access to a variety of databases in different disciplines. Articles are from newspapers, magazines and scholarly journals. Select the ones that best fit your particular research topic.
- EBSCOhost - All Databases
EBSCOhost provides access to databases containing articles in newspapers, magazines and scholarly journals. Select from a variety of disciplines to tailor your search to fit your topic.
- Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media
A collection of encyclopedias on a wide variety of topics. Great place to start your research.
Linked Full Text
- A to Z The World
Information on all of the countries of the world. Information such as business culture, health, culture and society, religion and other topics are included. A great way to get to know other peoples in other nations.
CountryWatch provides up-to-date news and information on each of the recognized countries of the world.
CultureGrams includes cultural information on the countries of the world. History, customs, cultural behavior are some of the featured topics.
**Select World Edition
- Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life covers cultural groups in Asia, Europe, the Americas and Africa. Each volume is organized for quick reference by continent, cover history, politics, customs, religion, education, human rights issues, teen life and much more for culture groups such as Kurds, Amish, Germans and more than 500 others.
- Gale Encyclopedia of World Cultures
This reference set lists and describes more than 1,500 global cultures. Based on research of social scientists, it is the source for historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on virtually every existing culture.
W. L. Lyons Brown Library Reference Desk