This is the "Home" page of the "Assumption High School" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Bellarmine University Homepage About Bellarmine University Contact Us BU Email Bellarmine University Sitemap BU Admissions BU Academics BU Athletics BU Campus Life BU Alumni BU Homepage BU YouTube BU Facebook BU Twitter BU Photos

Assumption High School  

Last Updated: Aug 24, 2015 URL: http://libguides.bellarmine.edu/assumption Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Database Resources and Searching Tips

Bellarmine University-W. L. Lyons Brown Library
Online Resources

To access the Bellarmine University Library Resources, go directly to the library web page at www.bellarmine.edu/library.aspx

At the Brown Library web page, you may access the databases you may need as follows:

Bellarmine Online Catalog: Click Lyonscat Online Catalog or use the drop box search at the top. This is used to find materials that are here in our library---books, DVDs, etc. You may access this from off-campus.

ProQuest: Click ProQuest under Online Databases. Click “Select all databases” and then “Continue.”

EBSCOhost: Click EBSCOhost under Online Databases. Good databases for you to begin with might be Academic Search Premier and Sociological Collection. Look through the other databases to see which ones might relate to your topic.

JSTOR: Click JSTOR under Online Databases.

Suggestions for searching:

*You usually do not need to capitalize titles, authors, etc. Most databases are not case sensitive.

*You should try to use as few words as possible in a search. Use the word “and” to link them together.

DO USE:                 (radio or television or "social network") and (women) and status

DO USE:                 consumerism and ethic*

DO USE:                 hippotherapy and children

The * picks up any variation of that term. For instance, psych* would pick up psychology, psychological, psychologically, psycho, etc.

In ProQuest: Mark “exclude from results”: book reviews and dissertations.

 

If an article is not full text in the database you’re using, click the Find It? button.

If it’s available in another database, it will take you to that article.

If not, you may then check to see if we subscribe to it (click “by ISSN”).

 

To find if we have online access to the full text of a particular journal through one of our online databases:

 *Go to the library home page (www.bellarmine.edu/library)

*Click on “Electronic Journal Finder

*Enter the title of the journal you are interested in finding

*If your journal comes up, look at the dates covered and follow that link!

 

Library hours during the regular semester:

Monday-Thursday:           7:30 a.m. to Midnight

Friday:                               7:30 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.

Saturday:                           7:45 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Sunday:                             Noon to Midnight

You may see the exceptions (such as Easter week) under “Library Hours” on our homepage.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
W.L. Lyons Brown Library - Bellarmine University
Contact Info
Reference Desk
502-272-8317
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip