This is the "Home" page of the "Article Databases A to Z" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Bellarmine University Homepage About Bellarmine University Contact Us BU Email Bellarmine University Sitemap BU Admissions BU Academics BU Athletics BU Campus Life BU Alumni BU Homepage BU YouTube BU Facebook BU Twitter BU Photos

Article Databases A to Z  

Find articles using the library's databases.
Last Updated: Feb 28, 2013 URL: http://libguides.bellarmine.edu/Articles Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Article Databases A to Z

EBSCOhost | JSTOR | LexisNexis Academic | Project Muse | ProQuest | WorldCat

A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L       O    P    Q    R    S       U    V    W    X    Y    Z

  • ABI/INFORM Global
    ABI/INFORM Global is one of the most comprehensive business databases on the market. It includes in-depth coverage for over 3,000 publications.
    Full Text
  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)
    Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study.
    Full Text
  • Afro American Newspapers
    An extensive collection of digitally archived issues of four Afro-American newspapers, The Afro-American Ledger (1906-1917), Washington Afro-American (1938-1988), The Afro-American (1902-1957), and the Baltimore Afro-American (1943-2003).
    Full Text
  • AGRICOLA (EBSCOhost, 1970 - present)
    AGRICOLA indexes topics in agriculture and life science.
    Linked Full Text
  • Alt-PressWatch (ProQuest, 1991 - present )
    Alt-PressWatch features independent voices from grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals.
    Full Text
  • American Chemical Society (1879 - present)
    This database provides access to journals concerning chemistry and chemistry-related subjects.
    Full Text
  • ArticleFirst (FirstSearch, 1990 - present)
    ArticleFirst includes items listed on the table of contents pages of over 16,000 journals.
    Linked Full Text
  • ATLA Religion Database with Serials (EBSCOhost, 1949 - present)
    Produced by the American Theological Library Association, this is the premier index for all fields of religion.
    Full Text.

    Back to Top


    B
  • Biography Reference Bank (EBSCOhost)
    Wilson’s ultimate biography database provides a wide range of biographical profiles of persons from all disciplines and all time periods.
    Full Text
  • Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost, 1922 - present)
    Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998.
    Full Text.
  • Business Source Premier Business Search Interface (EBSCOhost, 1922 - present)
    This is the same database as Business Source Premier but with a more sophisticated interface.
    Full Text

    Back to Top


    C
  • Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
    The database covers all aspects of the Catholic faith and lifestyle, and includes over 436,000 index citations of articles and reviews published in Roman Catholic periodicals, Papal documents, church promulgations, and books about the Catholic faith.
    Full Text
  • CINAHL with Full Text (EBSCOhost, 1981 - present)
    CINAHL with Full Text provides research in areas related to the fields of nursing and allied health.
    Full Text
  • ClasePeriodica (FirstSearch, 1975 - present)
    ClasePeriodica is an index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities.
    Linked Full Text
  • Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Ovid)
    Cochrane database material is provided under Evidence-Based Medicine Reviews.
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCOhost, 1915 - present)
    Communication & Mass Media Complete provides research in areas related to communication and mass media.
    Full Text
  • Consumer Health Complete (EBSCOhost)
    CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full-text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health and men & women's health.
    Full Text
  • Courier-Journal (ProQuest)
    Louisville Courier-Journal newspaper with full-text articles back to 1999.
    Full Text

    Back to Top


    E
  • EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost provides access to databases containing articles in newspapers, magazines and scholarly journals. Multi-disciplinary databases like Academic Search Premier provide articles on a wide variety of subject disciplines. Specialized databases like ERIC (education) and Medline (medicine) focus on specific areas of knowledge.
    Linked Full Text
  • ECO (Electronic Collections Online) (FirstSearch, 1995 - present)
    ECO (Electronic Collections Online) from FirstSearch is an OCLC collection of scholarly journals.
  • EconLit (EBSCOhost)
    EconLit provides citations for dissertations and articles dealing with economics.
    Linked Full Text
  • ERIC (EBSCOhost, 1966 - present)
    ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
    Full Text
  • Evidence-Based Medicine Reviews (Cochrane Database)
    Select Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews from the list provided. Evidence-Based Medicine Reviews contains articles that review, compare, and synthesize the results of clinical trials done in all areas of clinical medicine.
    Full Text

    Back to Top


    F
  • Film and Television Literature Index (EBSCOhost)
    Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text is the definitive online tool for film and television research. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
    Full Text

    Back to Top


    G
  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
  • GreenFILE (EBSCOhost)
    GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
    Full Text

    Back to Top


    H
  • Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCOhost, 1984 - present)
    Health Source: Consumer Edition is a consumer-health database that offers information on many health topics.
    Full Text
  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCOhost, 1975 - present)
    Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides information focusing on many medical disciplines such as nursing and allied health.
    Full Text
  • Highwire Press
    HighWire Press hosts the largest repository of free full text life science articles in the world.

    Back to Top


    J
  • JSTOR
    JSTOR provides access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in a variety of academic disciplines.
    Full Text
  • JSTOR Plant Science
    JSTOR Plant Science database provides access to botanical and other plant science resources from around the world.
    Full Text

    Back to Top


    K
  • Kentucky Virtual Library (KYVL)
    Kentucky Virtual Library (KYVL) provides access to databases that are for Kentuckians and Kentucky institutions' students/faculty.

    Back to Top


    L
  • LexisNexis Academic
    LexisNexis Academic provides news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications.
    Full Text
  • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (EBSCOhost, 1965 - present)
    Provides resources on librarianship, information science and management and related technology information.
    Linked Full Text
  • Literary Reference Center (EBSCOhost, 1967 - present)
    A comprehensive literary reference database, which provides users with a broad spectrum of reference information from antiquity to the present day.
    Full Text
  • Literary Reference Center Deluxe Interface (EBSCOhost, 1967 - present)
    A comprehensive literary reference database, which provides users with a broad spectrum of reference information from antiquity to the present day.
    Full Text

    Back to Top


    M

  • MasterFILE Premier (EBSCOhost, 1975 - present)
    MasterFILE Premier is designed specifically for public libraries and covers a broad range of disciplines.
    Full Text
  • MathSciNet
    Provides indexing and reviews from the American Mathematical Society.
    Full Text
  • MEDLINE (EBSCOhost, 1950 - present)
    Provides authoritative medical information covering all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing.
    Linked Full Text
  • Micromedex HealthCare (Thomson Gale)
    Micromedex Healthcare provides a range of clinical databases.
    Full Text.
  • Military & Government Collection (EBSCOhost, 1975 - present)
    Military & Government Collection is designed to offer current news pertaining to the military.
    Full Text
  • MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest, 1926 - present)
    MLA International Bibliography contains a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations covering various literature-related disciplines.
    Linked Full Text

    Back to Top


    N
  • New York Times Current (ProQuest, 1980 - present)
    Comprehensive digital coverage back to 1980 is available for this internationally renowned U.S. newspaper through the ProQuest database. The New York Times is considered the official U.S. newspaper because it publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches, and presidential press conferences. The paper's reporters have won scores of Pulitzer Prizes throughout the publication's 150-year history.
    Full Text
  • New York Times Historical (ProQuest, 1851 - 2007)
    Comprehensive digital coverage back to 1851 is available for this internationally renowned U.S. newspaper through the ProQuest database. The New York Times is considered the official U.S. newspaper because it publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches, and presidential press conferences. The paper's reporters have won scores of Pulitzer Prizes throughout the publication's 150-year history.
    Full Text
  • Newspaper Source (EBSCOhost)
    Newspaper Source provides information from U.S. & international newspapers.
    Full Text

    Back to Top


    O
  • Oxford Art Online
    Oxford Art Online is also know as Grove Art Online. It features over 45,000 signed articles, 5,500 images, 40,000 image links, timelines of world art, and MoMA lesson plans as well as the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and the Oxford Companion to Western Art.
    Full Text

    Back to Top


    P
  • PapersFirst (FirstSearch, 1993 - present)
    PapersFirst is an index of papers presented at conferences worldwide.
    Linked Full Text
  • Philosopher's Index (EBSCOhost, 1940 - present)
    The Philosopher’s Index, produced by the Philosopher’s Information Center, is a current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy.
  • ProceedingsFirst (FirstSearch, 1993 - present)
    ProceedingsFirst is an index of worldwide conference proceedings.
    Linked Full Text
  • Professional Development Collection (EBSCOhost, 1965 - present)
    Professional Development Collection, designed for professional educators, provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles.
    Full Text
  • Project Muse
    Over 300 humanities and social sciences journals from non-profit academic publishers.
    Full Text
  • ProQuest Career and Technical Education
    ProQuest Career and Technical Education is the definitive source for vocational information. The database includes over 600 titles, with more than 500 available in full text.
    Full Text
  • ProQuest Criminal Justice Periodicals
    Criminal Justice Periodicals is a database of U.S. and international criminal justice journals.
    Full Text

  • ProQuest Education Journals
    ProQuest Education Journals gives users access to around 900 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text. Offering complete information on hundreds of educational topics.
    Full Text
  • ProQuest Medical Library (ProQuest, 1987 - present)
    Users in academic libraries can find definitive research information in ProQuest Medical Library™. The database has over 1,000 titles, with more than 910 medical titles in full text (selected journals are available in color) with abstracts and indexing from the well-known MEDLINE® database.
    Full Text
  • ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Source (ProQuest, 1986 - present)
    ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. This versatile database is designed to meet the needs of researchers at healthcare facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.
    Full Text
  • ProQuest Religion (ProQuest, 1986 - present)
    ProQuest Religion is an indispensable resource for religious studies programs and for anyone researching religious issues and perspectives. This resource presently has more than 150 journals, with most of them available with full-text. The content is full-text, scholarly, and designed to meet the needs of both religious studies programs and general library collections.
    Full Text
  • ProQuest Research Library
    From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,000 titles - over 3,500 in full text - from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
    Full Text
  • PsycARTICLES (EBSCOhost)
    PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains approximately 150,000 articles from over 70 journals published by the APA,
    Full Text
  • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCOhost, 1965 - present)
    Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
    Full Text
  • PsycINFO (EBSCOhost, 1887 - present)
    PsychINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines.
    Linked Full Text
  • PubMed Central
    PubMed Central (PMC) is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's digital archive of life sciences journal literature.
    Full Text

    Back to Top


    R
  • Regional Business News (EBSCOhost)
    Regional Business News incorporates more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
    Full Text
  • Religion and Philosophy Collection (EBSCOhost, 1975 - present)
    The Religion & Philosophy Collection is a comprehensive database covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
    Full Text

    Back to Top


    S
  • Science Direct Health & Life Sciences (Elsevier, 1995 - present)
    Over 1000 scholarly journals in the Health and Life Sciences.
    Full Text
  • Serials Solutions
    Serials Solutions offers a way to see if our library has electronic access to the full text of various journals.
  • Small Business Reference Center (EBSCOhost)
    Small Business Reference Center provides up-to-date information on relevant topics from starting a company, operations management and sales to growing or rescuing a business. The database contains nearly 400 full-text periodicals and over 450 full-text reference books.
    Full Text
  • Sociological Collection (EBSCOhost, 1965 - present)
    The Sociological Collection is a comprehensive database covering information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure. This database provides complete full text for more than 500 important journals.
    Full Text
  • SPORTDiscus (EBSCOhost)
    Indexing and articles covering a wide range of sports related topics including, exercise science, physical education, sports management, sports marketing and athletic training.
    Full Text

    Back to Top


    T
  • Teacher Reference Center
    Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 periodicals. In addition, 96% of journals indexed in the database are peer-reviewed. Topics include: Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research.
    Full Text
  • TOPICSearch (EBSCOhost)
    TopicSearch is a current events database covering social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms.
    Full Text.

    Back to Top


    W

Subject Guide

Profile Image
W.L. Lyons Brown Library - Bellarmine University
Contact Info
Reference Desk
502-272-8317
Send Email
 

Rate This Guide.

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

Library on Facebook

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip