- A to Z Maps Online
is the world's largest subscription-based database of proprietary, royalty-free world, continent, country, and state maps. Included in the 4,000+ maps are: political maps, physical maps, outline maps, population maps, precipitation maps, climate maps, and other thematic maps. New maps are added to the collection every month.
ABI/INFORM Global™ is one of the most comprehensive business databases on the market. It includes in-depth coverage for over 3,000 publications.
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost, 1975 - present)
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study.
- Afro American Newspapers
An extensive collection of digitally archived issues of four Afro-American newspapers. The Afro-American Ledger (1906-1917), Washington Afro-American (1938-1988), The Afro-American (1902-1957), and the Baltimore Afro-American (1943-2003).
- AGRICOLA (EBSCOhost, 1970 - present)
AGRICOLA indexes topics in agriculture and life science.
Linked Full Text
- Alt-PressWatch (ProQuest, 1991 - present )
Alt-PressWatch features independent voices from grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals.
- American Chemical Society (1879 - present)
This database provides access to journals concerning chemistry and chemistry-related subjects.
- American Decades 2000-2009 (Gale)
Covers everything from monumental events and groundbreaking individuals to the fascinating details of Americans' daily lives. Supports historical research in disciplines from the arts and business to law, medicine, technology and social trends.
- American Decades Primary Sources (Gale)
Provides full or excerpted primary sources in 160-170 entries from each period representing a diversity of views that provide insight into the seminal issues, themes, movements, and events from the decade. It is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- American Fact Finder– U.S. Census Bureau
Locate demographic information. This is a great source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data.
- Annual Reports.com
All publicly traded companies are required by the SEC (Securities and Exchange Commission) to publish certain financial data annually. The annual report is a publication that is distributed by these publicly traded companies to their shareholdersAnnualReports.com provides instant access to annual reports in their actual format in one single location.
- ATLA Religion Database with Serials (EBSCOhost, 1949 - present)
Produced by the American Theological Library Association this is the premier index for all fields of religion.
Back to TopB
- Biography Reference Bank (EBSCOhost)
Wilson’s ultimate biography database provides a wide-range of biographical profiles of persons from all disciplines and all time periods.
- Business First (American City Business Journals)
In addition to Louisville’s Business First, American City Business Journals (ACBJ) offers the best in local business news from coast to coast. The 40 business newspapers from across the nation include information about regional business activities and trends.
- Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost, 1922 - present)
Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998.
- Business Source Premier Business Search Interface (EBSCOhost, 1922 - present)
This is the same database as Business Source Premier but with a more sophisticated interface.
Back to TopC
- Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities
The Directory assists you in selecting those journals that are most likely to publish your manuscript.
- Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
The database covers all aspects of the Catholic faith and lifestyle, and includes over 436,000 index citations of articles and reviews published in Roman Catholic periodicals, Papal documents, church promulgations, and books about the Catholic faith.
- Checkpoint (Thomson-Reuters)
Thomson Reuters Checkpoint® is the industry-leader for online information for tax, accounting and finance professionals. Thousands of tax and accounting professionals rely on Checkpoint every day to understand complex information, make informed decisions and use knowledge more efficiently.
- Choice Reviews Online
Book and resource reviews from the Association of College and Research Libraries.
- CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health) with Full Text
CINAHL with Full Text provides research in areas related to the fields of nursing and allied health.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Cochrane Reviews are published in The Cochrane Library – an online collection of databases that brings together in one place rigorous and up-to-date research on the effectiveness of healthcare treatments and interventions, as well as methodology and diagnostic tests.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Ovid)
- Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCOhost, 1915 - present)
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides research in areas related to communication and mass media.
- Company Histories (Gale)
A company's history can be just as relevant as its current stock price. Read all about the development of the world's top companies from Acciona to Zomba. Entries include timelines, lists of principal subsidiaries and competitors, and bibliographies for further reading.
- Congressional Digest and Supreme Court Debates
Provides research and balanced presentation of important debates before Congress, the Supreme Court, and international bodies help you understand the issues and form your own opinions.
- Congressional Research Service Reports
The Congressional Research Service is an arm of the Library of Congress devoted to providing for Congress research and analysis on legislative issues. In addition to meeting with Congressional members and staffers, CRS releases reports and issue briefs for members of Congress. These reports and issue briefs are made available to Congress through a web site that is not available to the general public.
- Consumer Health Complete (EBSCOhost)
CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full-text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health and men & women's health.
- Consumer Medication Information - American Society of Health-System Pharmacists
AHFS Consumer Medication Information is a trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish.
- Corporate Disasters (Gale)
Profiles the biggest corporate mistakes or misdeeds throughout history, covering the people, the times, the decisions made.
- Country Profiles (Recent)
Country profiles from the Library of Congress. Brief studies of nations from around the world. Includes politics, economics, social conditions and more.
- Country Studies (Historical)
Country Studies from the Library of Congress. Complete studies of nations from around the world. Includes politics, economics, social conditions and more.
CountryWatch provides up-to-date news and information on each of the recognized countries of the world.
- Courier Journal (ProQuest)
Louisville Courier-Journal newspaper with full-text articles back to 1999.
- Courier-Journal (Digital Microfilm Version)
The Courier Journal newspaper with full-text from 2008-2012. Provides PDF full-page version of newspaper. Click Select under item to display and choose Courier Journal, then enter a date range to display pages.
- CQ Researcher Online (1991 - present)
CQ Researcher contains reports on health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
- CQ Weekly (Congressional Quarterly, 1983 - present)
CQ Weekly offers in-depth reports on issues looming on the congressional horizon.
CultureGrams includes cultural information on the countries of the world. History, customs, cultural behavior are some of the featured topics.
Back to TopD
- Department of State Background Notes
Background Notes include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations.
- Dictionaries (Dictionary.com)
Dictionary.com is a multi-source dictionary search service produced by Dictionary.com, LLC. Among dictionaries included are the American Heritage Dictionary and the Random House Dictionary.
- Dictionary of American History (Gale)
Provides a general reference on a wide range of topics in American history, from the well studied and familiar to the obscure. It is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Dictionary of the History of Ideas (Gale)
A six-volume survey of the history of Western thought and culture, presented through 700 alphabetically arranged entries. Each entry explores the origin, cultural interpretations, and historical themes of such subjects as beauty, love, feminism, diversity, and social capital, among many others. For students and general readers.
- Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media (Gale)
This premier media directory contains thousands of listings for radio and television stations and cable companies. Print media entries provide address; phone, fax numbers, and e-mail addresses; key personnel, including feature editors; and much more. Broadcast media entries provide address; phone, fax, and e-mail addresses; key personnel; owner information; hours of operation; networks carried and more.
- Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)
Full text version of ProQuests dissertation abstracts; it contains dissertations and theses from institutions in North America and Europe.
- Doing Business Report Series
The Doing Business report series includes annual reports going back to 2004, a wide variety of subnational studies, and a number of special reports dealing with regions or topics. Use the tabs to read report summaries and to download. Additional country and regional reports can be downloaded below.
Back to TopE
- Ebooks from EBSCOhost
A collection of academic ebooks. Read, download and print the full-text of a wide range of books. Click here
for instructions on how to download EBSCOhost eBooks to you iPad.
Read, download and print the full-text of a wide range of books. Click here
for instructions on how to download ebrary books to you iPad.
- EBSCOhost - All Databases
EBSCOhost provides access to databases containing articles in newspapers, magazines and scholarly journals. Select from a variety of disciplines to tailor your search to fit your topic. Click here
for searching tips.
- EconLit (EbscoHost, 1969 - present)
EconLit provides citations for dissertations and articles dealing with economics.
Linked Full Text
- Eighties in America (Salem Press)
The Eighties in America examines the events and personalities of this pivotal decade. It serves as a valuable information source and offers keen insights for today's students. (Select Eighties in America in the From field)
- Encyclopaedia Britannica (Encyclopaedia Britannica)
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Academic Edition includes articles from the Encyclopaedia Britannica and more.
- Encyclopaedia Judaica (Gale)
Intended to provide an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary era. It is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Encyclopedia Americana (Grolier)
Encyclopedia Americana is the online version of the print Encyclopedia Americana.
- Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History
A five-volume set and supplement covering all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present day. Using biographies, historical essays, and thematic pieces, many written by foremost scholars, it addresses a wide array of subjects in over 2,300 articles to define in one source the cultural roots, participation in American life, and current condition of the African-American community..
- Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine (Gale)
Covers all aspects of the subject including therapies, conditions/diseases, herbs/plants, and people. Identifies numerous types of alternative medicine being practiced today, including reflexology, acupressure, acupuncture, chelation therapy, kinesiology, yoga, chiropractic, Feldenkrais, polarity therapy, detoxification, naturopathy, Chinese medicine, biofeedback, Ayurveda and osteopathy.
- Encyclopedia of American Industries (Gale)
A business reference encyclopedia providing detailed, comprehensive information on a wide range of industries in every realm of American business. It is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Encyclopedia of American Law
Covers today's leading cases, major statutes, legal terms and concepts, notable persons involved with the law, and important documents. Includes topics such as the Americans with Disabilities Act, capital punishment, domestic violence, gay and lesbian rights, physician-assisted suicide and more.
- Encyclopedia of American Religions
Comprehensive coverage of more than 2,300 North American religious groups in the U.S. and Canada -- from Adventists to Zen Buddhists. Information is presented in two distinct sections, essays and directory listings describing the historical development of religious families and providing factual information about each group within those families. Includes, when available, rubrics for membership figures, educational facilities and periodicals.
- Encyclopedia of Associations
The only comprehensive source for detailed information on nonprofit American membership organizations of national scope. Every entry offers a wealth of valuable data, typically including the organization's complete name, address and phone number together with the primary official's name and title; fax number, when available; founding date, purpose, activities and dues; national and international conferences; and more.
- Encyclopedia of Bioethics (Gale)
Encyclopedia of Bioethics covers such topics as the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment. It is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Encyclopedia of Buddhism (Gale)
This encyclopedia describes the Buddhist world view, basic teachings and practices of Buddhism, as well as its different schools and sects. In addition to containing entries on Buddhist scriptures, art, architecture, divinities, monastic orders, festivals, rites and ceremonies, this 2-vol. set explores the history of Buddhism, the different forms it has taken in different parts of the world, and how Buddhism has blended with other religions.
- Encyclopedia of Business and Finance
Encyclopedia of Business and Finance is a 2-vol. complete reference covering five general areas: finance and banking; accounting; marketing; management; and information systems. Drawing on practical professional expertise as well as that of noted scholars, the contributors include executives, government administrators and scholars from leading business programs from around the United States.
- Encyclopedia of Clothing & Fashion (Gale)
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion surveys clothing, costume and fashion, and examines the origins and other aspects of clothing and dress. It is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Encyclopedia of Death and Dying (MacMillan)
Comprehensive exploration of the place of death in contemporary life. It is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol & Addictive Behavior
Explores the social, medical, legal and political issues related to drugs and alcohol and associated behaviors. Includes emerging topics and developments in the many fields of addiction studies.
- Encyclopedia of Education (Gale)
Intended to provide a comprehensive description of the enterprise of education both within the United States and throughout the world. It is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Encyclopedia of Education Law (Gale)
Covers a number of essential topics, including: key cases in education law; constitutional issues; key concepts, theories, and legal principles; key statutes; treaties; curricular issues; educational equity; governance; rights of students and teachers; technology; biographies; and organizations.
- Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration (Gale)
Presents the most recent theories, research, terms, concepts, ideas, and histories on educational leadership and school administration as it is taught in preparation programs and practiced in schools and colleges today.
- Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries (Gale)
Provides information about the inception, emergence and current status of new and established industries and business segments that are pioneering new technologies, introducing break-through marketing strategies or implementing innovative means of serving new markets. Consists of detailed profiles newer industries, such as biometrics, risk management services, satellites, specialty tourism, and others.
- Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy
Examines the philosophical and ethical issues underlying contemporary and historical environmental issues, policies, and debates. Covers concepts, institutions, topics, events and people, including global warming, animal rights, environmental movements, alternative energy, green chemistry, industrial ecology, and eco-sabotage.
- Encyclopedia of Espionage, Intelligence and Security
Comprehensive guide to the history, uses, related scientific principles, and technology of espionage and intelligence, written by experts in the field. Topics range from the historical use of espionage to the emerging use of technology in modern espionage and counterintelligence.
- Encyclopedia of Fitness
Covers 300 topics on physiology and fitness, including coverage of Healthy People 2010/2020, the nationwide initiative sponsored by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services to improve the nation's health, as well as topics on diseases and conditions related to fitness.
- Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
A three-volume survey of food and its place in human culture and society, presented through 600 alphabetically sorted entries. Features multidisciplinary coverage of such topics as comfort food, ethnicity and food, medieval banquets, and nutrient composition, among many others. Includes photographs, illustrations, sidebars, recipes, menus, and timelines. For students and general readers.
- Encyclopedia of India
A four-volume survey of the history, cultures, geography and religions of India from ancient times to the present day. Includes more than 600 entries, arranged alphabetically. For students and general readers.
- Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture (Gale)
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
- Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns
This second volume of Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns (EMMC) profiles 474 of the most notable advertising and marketing initiatives of the twentieth and twenty-first centurie
- Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Strategies
A continuation of Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns (1999 and 2007), this new volume expands its international coverage through its 100 essays covering some of the top global and emerging brands that appeared from 2010 to 2013.
- Encyclopedia of Management
Covers numerous topics in management theories and applications, such as aggregate planning, benchmarking, logistics, diversification strategy, non-traditional work arrangements, performance measurement, productivity measures, supply chain management, and much more.
- Encyclopedia of Medicine (Gale)
Includes information on more than 1,700 medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics. Written for a general audience with an authoritative tone.
- Encyclopedia of Mental Health (Gale)
Provides detailed information on mental disorders and conditions. Also features entries for prescription, alternative and over-the-counter drugs, as well as the various therapies used to treat mental disorders.
- Encyclopedia of Modern China
Provides critical information on the most populous country and most dynamic trade market in the world: the people, politics, economics, religion, philosophy, traditions, art, and literature of this ancient and enduring civilization are explored from the beginning of the nineteenth century to the present day.
- Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health (Gale)
This 5-vol. set provides more than 850 entries covering topics in nursing and allied health written for students and professionals in the field. Alphabetically arranged entries cover topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment.
- Encyclopedia of Philosophy (Gale)
English-language reference source for philosophy," has been the cornerstone of the philosophy reference shelf. Lauded for its clear and accessible presentation of wide-ranging philosophical subjects, the Encyclopedia has earned its place as a first-stop resource for general readers, students and educators.
- Encyclopedia of Psychology
This single-volume, accessible resource covers the entire spectrum of psychology, including: notable people, theories and terms; landmark case studies and experiments; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information.
- Encyclopedia of Public Health
Alphabetically arranged encyclopedia contains approximately 257 entries pertaining to important public health concerns. Topics include diseases and conditions, health and wellness efforts, nutrition, ethics and law related topics and statistics, sanitation issues, and everyday environmental effects.
- Encyclopedia of Religion (Gale)
Encyclopedia of Religion includes entries and articles on religion. It is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Encyclopedia of Science, Technology and Ethics (Gale)
This encyclopedia considers both the professional ethics of science and technology, and the social, ethical, and political issues raised by science and technology. It is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Encyclopedia of Sleep and Dreams
This reference covers the major topics concerning dreaming and sleep, based on the latest empirical evidence from sleep research as well as drawn from a broad range of dream-related interdisciplinary contexts, including history and anthropology.
- Encyclopedia of Sociology (Gale)
Encyclopedia of Sociology includes entries and articles on the field of sociology. It is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Encyclopedia of the American Constitution
Contains new and updated original articles covering recent concepts (i.e. adoption, race, the Constitution, birthright citizenship) and court cases since 1992 offering comprehensive coverage of all aspects of constitutional law, as well as biographies of people who have had an impact on our government's legal framework (Supreme Court Justices, Presidents, Cabinet Members, Lawyers, and more). Also covers judicial decisions handed down by the Supreme Court.
- Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court of the United States
Focuses on the substance of American law, the processes that produce its legal principles, and the history of the Supreme Court, from its creation to the present. Overview essays address the history of such topics as citizenship, due process, Native Americans, racism, and contraception, emphasizing the social context of each and the social and political pressures that shaped interpretation.
- Encyclopedia of World Cultures (Gale)
This reference set lists and describes more than 1,500 global cultures. Based on research of social scientists, it is the source for historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on virtually every existing culture.
- ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) (EBSCOhost, 1966 - present)
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
- European Views of the Americas (EBSCOhost)
European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750 is a database based on the authoritative bibliography "European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed in Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750."
- Evidence-Based Medicine Reviews (Cochrane Database)
Select Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
from the list provided. Evidence-Based Medicine Reviews contains articles that review, compare, and synthesize the results of clinical trials done in all areas of clinical medicine.
Back to TopF
- Facts on File Issues & Controversies (1995 - present)
Facts on File Issues & Controversies is a source of information on many of the most prominent and hotly debated issues of the day, discussing both sides of an issue.
- Facts on File World News Digest (1940 - present)
Facts on File World News Digest contains complete content from the print Facts On File World News Digest and a live newsfeed from Reuters®.
- Federal Digital System (Government Publications)
GPO’s Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
- Fifties in America (Salem Press)
The Fifties in America surveys the events and people of all of North America during the 1950's (Select Fifties in America in the From field).
- Film and Television Literature Index (EBSCOhost)
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text is the definitive online tool for film and television research. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
- Films on Demand
Films On Demand is a web-based digital video delivery platform that allows you to view streaming videos from Films Media Group anytime, anywhere, 24/7! Thousands of videos are available for in-class use and remote viewing from the library, in the dorm, or at home.
- Forties in America (Salem Press)
The Forties in America examines the iconic personalities and moments of this important decade. With more than 600 articles about films, books, political leaders, events, fads and technology, this three-volume encyclopedia serves as a valuable source of information and keen insights for today's students (Select Forties in America in the From field)
- Foundation Center Online
Provides information on grantmakers and their grants, containing over 92,000 foundations, corporate giving programs, and grant making public charities in the United States.
- Foundation Grants for Individuals
Provides information on foundations that provide financial support for individual grantseekers covering a variety of purposes, including scholarships, student loans, fellowships, program development, internships, professorships, arts and culture projects, and research.
- Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (EBSCOhost)
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics.
Back to TopG
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (Thompson Gale)
A collection of encyclopedias on a wide variety of topics. Great place to start your research.
Linked Full Text
- Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
- GreenFILE (EBSCOhost)
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
- Guide To Reference
The “source of first resort” for identifying local materials that answer users’ questions, training reference staff, inventorying and developing reference collections, assisting interlibrary loan staff, and serving as a gateway to the wider repertory of the reference literature.
Back to TopH
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) (EBSCOhost)
Reviews of health and psychosocial tests.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCOhost, 1984 - present)
Health Source: Consumer Edition is a consumer-health database that offers information on many health topics.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCOhost, 1975 - present)
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides information focusing on many medical disciplines such as nursing and allied health.
- Highwire Press
HighWire Press hosts the largest repository of free full text life science articles in the world.
- History of the American Cinema (Gale)
This encyclopedia considers the film industry from its early roots in the 19th century through the 1980s. It is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- Hoover's First Research
Hoover's First Research provides industry profiles to help marketers, businessowners, job seekers and researchers. It profiles 900 Industry Segments, updated constantly with monthly statistics and indicators as well as quarterly trend updates.
- Human Diseases and Conditions (Gale)
Presents information on numerous diseases and conditions. Articles include a definition of the disease or condition, an explanation of how it works in the body, information on causes, symptoms and diagnosis, treatment or cure, and lifestyles.
- Human Geography: People and the Environment
Provides insight into both regional and global issues by addressing fundamental and advanced topics critical to the study of human geography and places special emphasis on exploring the impact of human habitation and economic activity on the environment.
Back to TopI
- Information Please Almanac
Infoplease is a comprehensive reference source that combines the contents of an encyclopedia, a dictionary, an atlas, and several almanacs loaded with statistics, facts, and historical records. A single search engine allows you to search all these sources at once.
- International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family (Gale)
Examines the history of family life within cultures and how families have been affected by political and social change. It is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- International Encyclopedia of Sexuality
The Continuum Complete International Encyclopedia of Sexuality is the foremost reference work on sexual behavior throughout the world. Written by more than 200 leading sexologists in their respective countries and cultures, each lengthy entry explores such areas as heterosexual relationships, children, adolescents, adults, gender-conflicted persons, unconventional sexual patterns, contraception, sexually transmitted diseases, AIDS, sexual dysfunctions, and therapies.
- International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
Covers scholarship and fields that have emerged and matured since the publication of the original international edition. Highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features new articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences.
- Internet Archive
Download free books and texts. The Internet Archive Text Archive contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books. Full Text
Back to TopJ
- Joanna Briggs Institute
The Joanna Briggs Institute database provides access to systematic reviews. The systematic review is essentially an analysis of the available literature (that is, evidence) and a judgment of the effectiveness or otherwise of a particular nursing practice. The database also provides a collection of best practice information sheets based on the best available research evidence as reported in systematic reviews.
JSTOR provides access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in a variety of academic disciplines.
- JSTOR Plant Science
JSTOR Plant Science database provides access to botanical and other plant science resources from around the world.
Back to TopK
- Kentucky Encyclopedia
The Kentucky Encyclopedia covers subjects in all areas of the commonwealth.
- Kentucky State Data Center
Find local census and business data from the U.S. Census. The information can be limited to counties, cities and neighborhoods.
- Kentucky Virtual Library (KYVL)
Kentucky Virtual Library (KYVL) provides access to databases that are for Kentuckians and Kentucky institutions' students/faculty.
Back to TopL
- LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Academic provides news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications.
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (EBSCOhost, 1965 - present)
Provides resources on librarianship, information science and management and related technology information.
Linked Full Text
- Literary Reference Center (EBSCOhost, 1967 - present)
A comprehensive literary reference database, which provides users with a broad spectrum of reference information from antiquity to the present day.
- Literary Reference Center Deluxe Interface(EBSCOhost, 1967 - present)
A comprehensive literary reference database, which provides users with a broad spectrum of reference information from antiquity to the present day.
- LitFinder (Thomson Gale)
LitFinder provides access to poems, stories, plays and more.
- Local Market Audience Analyst - SRDS (Standard Rate & Data Service)
USE ONLY WITH INTERNET EXPLORER
-Local Market Audience Analyst is the next generation consumer market research tool that delivers sophisticated demographic, segmentation, and targeting data for media planners and consumer marketers. Includes market profile reports, lifestyle analysis reports and demographics reports.
Back to TopM
- Magill's Literary Annual (Salem Press)
Evaluates 200 major examples of serious literature published during the previous calendar year. Covers works of interest to general readers.
- MasterFILE Premier (EBSCOhost, 1975 - present)
MasterFILE Premier is designed specifically for public libraries and covers a broad range of disciplines.
Provides indexing and reviews from the American Mathematical Society.
- MEDLINE (EBSCOhost, 1950 - present)
Provides authoritative medical information covering all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing.
Linked Full Text
- Mental Measurements Yearbook w/ Tests in Print (EBSCOhost, 1989 - present)
Provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments.
- Mergent Online
Mergent Online includes U.S. company data, archives, annual reports, fact sheets and North American Industry Reports.
- Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary & Thesaurus
The Merriam-Webster Dictionary & Thesaurus available on the web. It is also accessible via the Encyclopædia Britannica web site.
- Micromedex HealthCare (Thomson Gale)
Micromedex Healthcare provides a range of clinical databases.
- Milestone Documents in African American History (Salem Press)
African American history is an integral part of the American story. Milestone Documents in African American History explores the key documents in this heritage, including court cases, presidential and legislative initiatives, and speeches from figures such as Martin Luther King, Jr., Frederick Douglass, Booker T. Washington, and Barack Obama.
- Milestone Documents in American History (Salem Press)
Milestone Documents in American History combines 130 full-text primary source documents with expert analysis and commentary (Select Milelstone Documents in American History in the From field).
- Milestone Documents in World History (Salem Press)
Each entry in Milestone Documents in World History begins with an overview section that outlines the importance of the document. Subsequent sections include "Context," which discusses the historical context of the document, a "Time Line" of key events, a brief biographical profile of the author(s), the "Explanation and Analysis of the Document"
- Milestone Documents of American Leaders (Salem Press)
The second title in the groundbreaking Milestone Documents series, Milestone Documents of American Leaders offers a unique biographical approach to the study of primary source documents (Select Milelstone Documents of American Leaders in the From field).
- Military & Government Collection (EBSCOhost, 1975 - present)
Military & Government Collection is designed to offer current news pertaining to the military.
- Mintel Oxygen
Mintel Oxygen provides detailed market research reports in the areas of Beauty & Personal Care, Drink, Food, Leisure & Entertainment, Lifestyles, and Retailing and Apparel. ***Users must create a personal account. To create a personal account, After clicking on the Mintel Oxygen link, click "I Agree"at the end of the license agreement and then click "create a personal profile" using your Bellarmine email address.
- MLA Directory of Periodicals (ProQuest, 1926 - present)
The MLA Directory of Periodicals produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) contains information available on the journals and series that are covered in the MLA International Bibliography database.
Linked Full Text
- MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest, 1926 - present)
MLA International Bibliography contains a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations covering various literature-related disciplines.
Linked Full Text
- Mutopia Sheet Music
The Mutopia Project offers sheet music editions of classical music for free download. These are based on editions in the public domain, and include works by Bach, Beethoven, Chopin, Handel, Mozart, and many others.
Back to TopN
- New Catholic Encyclopedia (Gale)
Provides a scholarly presentation of persons and subjects related to Catholicism, from the well studied and familiar to the obscure. It is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
- New Encyclopedia of Africa
Addresses the entire history of African cultures from the pharaohs and the ancient civilizations of the south through the colonial era to the emergence of 53 independent countries, some of them newly emergent in world commerce and others deep in conflict. Covers issues facing the continent such as global development, the AIDS crisis, and international terrorism.
- New York Times Current (ProQuest, 1980 - present)
Comprehensive digital coverage back to 1980 is available for this internationally renowned U.S. newspaper through the ProQuest database. The New York Times is considered the official U.S. newspaper because it publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches, and presidential press conferences. The paper's reporters have won scores of Pulitzer Prizes throughout the publication's 150-year history.
- New York Times Historical (ProQuest, 1851 - 2007)
Comprehensive digital coverage back to 1851 is available for this internationally renowned U.S. newspaper through the ProQuest database. The New York Times is considered the official U.S. newspaper because it publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches, and presidential press conferences. The paper's reporters have won scores of Pulitzer Prizes throughout the publication's 150-year history.
- Newspaper Source (EBSCOhost)
Newspaper Source provides information from U.S. & international newspapers.
- Nineties in America (Salem Press)
The Nineties in America examines the iconic personalities and moments of this important decade. With more than 600 articles about films, books, political leaders, events, fads and technology, this three-volume encyclopedia serves as a valuable source of information and keen insights for today's students.
- Novelist (EBSCOhost)
NoveList, a readers' advisory service, not only provides access to information on 155,000 fiction titles, but it also offers a wide range of feature content that will expand your staff's ability to serve fiction readers of all ages and increase the reach of your library's program including author read-alikes, book discussion guides, reading lists and more.
Back to TopO
- Occupational Information Network
O*NET OnLine has detailed descriptions of the world of work for use by job seekers, workforce development and HR professionals, students, researchers, and more!
- Occupational Outlook Handbook
Welcome to the nation′s premier source for career information! The profiles featured here cover hundreds of occupations and describe What They Do, Work Environment, How to Become One, Pay, and more. Each profile also includes BLS employment projections for the 2010–20 decade.
- Origins Online
The Catholic News Service documentary service. It publishes texts from the Vatican, pope, bishops, Congress, Senate, Supreme Court and church leaders around the world.
- Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online is also know as Grove Art Online. It features over 45,000 signed articles, 5,500 images, 40,000 image links, timelines of world art, and MoMA lesson plans as well as the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and the Oxford Companion to Western Art.
- Oxford Bibliographies - Atlantic History Resources
Atlantic history is a fast developing field of historical inquiry that operates upon new assumptions about how to understand the remarkable nature of interactions between different peoples and cultures on four continents and many islands in the period between Columbus’ voyages to the New World in the late fifteenth century and the end of slavery in the Americas in the late nineteenth century. Oxford Bibliographies provides articles written by a range of scholars from numerous countries representing the best in scholarship now available.
- Oxford English Dictionary
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
- Oxford Music Online
Oxford Music Online is also know as Grove Music Online. Includes The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition; The New Grove Dictionary of Opera; and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition as well as the Oxford Companion to Music and the Oxford Dictionary of Music.
- Oxford Reference Online
In Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection you will find a wealth of facts, figures, definitions, and translations from 175+ Oxford reference titles, many of which are in-depth, scholarly articles from titles in the acclaimed Oxford Companions series, plus all 20,000 quotations from the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations.
Back to TopP
- Philosopher's Index (EBSCOhost, 1940 - present) Mobile Version
The Philosopher’s Index™, produced by the Philosopher’s Information Center, is a current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy.
"Promoting critical thinking, education, and informed citizenship by presenting controversial issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan, primarily pro-con format." We accomplish our mission by researching issues that we feel are controversial and important, and we work to present them in a balanced, comprehensive, straightforward, and primarily pro-con format at no charge on our websites.
- Professional Development Collection (EBSCOhost, 1965 - present)
Professional Development Collection, designed for professional educators, provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles.
- Project Muse
Over 300 humanities and social sciences journals from non-profit academic publishers.
- ProQuest - All Databases
ProQuest provides access to a variety of databases in different disciplines. Articles are from newspapers, magazines and scholarly journals. Select the ones that best fit your particular research topic. Click here
for searching tips.
- ProQuest Career and Technical Education
ProQuest Career and Technical Education is the definitive source for vocational information. The database includes over 600 titles, with more than 500 available in full text.
- ProQuest Criminal Justice Periodicals
Criminal Justice Periodicals is a database of U.S. and international criminal justice journals.
- ProQuest Education Journals (ProQuest, 1991 - present)
ProQuest® Education Journals gives users access to around 900 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text. Offering complete information on hundreds of educational topics.
- ProQuest Medical Library (ProQuest, 1987 - present)
Users in academic libraries can find definitive research information in ProQuest Medical Library™. The database has over 1,000 titles, with more than 910 medical titles in full text (selected journals are available in color) with abstracts and indexing from the well-known MEDLINE® database.
- ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Source (ProQuest, 1986 - present)
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source™ provides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. This versatile database is designed to meet the needs of researchers at healthcare facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.
- ProQuest Religion (ProQuest, 1986 - present)
ProQuest Religion is an indispensable resource for religious studies programs and for anyone researching religious issues and perspectives. This resource presently has more than 150 journals, with most of them available with full-text. The content is full-text, scholarly, and designed to meet the needs of both religious studies programs and general library collections.
- ProQuest Research Library
From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library™ provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,000 titles - over 3,500 in full text - from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
- PsycARTICLES (EBSCOhost)
PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains approximately 150,000 articles from over 70 journals published by the APA,
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCOhost, 1965 - present)
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
- Psychology and Mental Health Guide (Salem Press)
Basically a psychology encyclopedia, this database covers notable theories, people, social issues, life stages, the physiology and anatomy of the nervous system, and various mental illnesses or conditions.
- PsycINFO (EBSCOhost, 1887 - present)
PsychINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines.
Linked Full Text
- PubMed Central
PubMed Central (PMC) is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's digital archive of life sciences journal literature.
Back to TopR
- Regional Business News (EBSCOhost)
Regional Business News incorporates more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
- Religion and Philosophy Collection (EBSCOhost, 1975 - present)
The Religion & Philosophy Collection™ is a comprehensive database covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
- Resources for College Libraries
Lists core titles in curriculum specific subjects.
- Roget's International Thesaurus
Find words and phrases to make your writing sound more professional.
Back to TopS
- Salem History (Salem Press)
Salem History Provides access to several sets of reference resources. Milestone Documents - A new, primary source series and The Decades - Salem's critically acclaimed American history series.
- Science Direct Health & Life Sciences (Elsevier, 1995 - present)
Over 1000 scholarly journals in the Health and Life Sciences.
- Serials Solutions
Serials Solutions offers a way to see if our library has electronic access to the full text of various journals.
- Seventies in America (Salem Press)
The Seventies in America features both longer overviews and shorter entries discussing people, books, films, television series, musical groups, and other important topics. Every entry focuses on a topic or person during the 1970s.
- Sixties in America (Salem Press)
The Sixties in America, surveys the events and people of the 1960's, a turbulent decade that had a profound and lasting effect on the life and culture of the United States.
- Small Business Reference Center (EBSCOhost)
Small Business Reference Center™ provides up-to-date information on relevant topics from starting a company, operations management and sales to growing or rescuing a business. The database contains nearly 400 full-text periodicals and over 450 full-text reference books.
- Sociological Collection (EBSCOhost, 1965 - present)
The Sociological Collection is a comprehensive database covering information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure. This database provides complete full text for more than 500 important journals.
- SportDiscus (EBSCOHost)
Indexing and articles covering a wide range of sports related topics including, exercise science, physical education, sports management, sports marketing and athletic training.
Back to TopT
- Teacher Reference Center (EBSCOhost)
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 periodicals. In addition, 96% of journals indexed in the database are peer-reviewed. Topics include: Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research.
- Tell Me More (Language Learning Course) Use only with Internet Explorer.
*You must first create an account while on a campus machine, you may then use Tell Me More from off campus. TELL ME MORE® offers the most comprehensive language learning solution. Languages include Dutch, English, French, German, Italian, Spanish (European) and Spanish (Latin American).
- Thirties in America (Salem Press)
The Thirties in America examines the iconic personalities and moments of this important decade. With more than 600 articles about films, books, political leaders, events, fads and technology, this three-volume encyclopedia serves as a valuable source of information and keen insights for today's students.
- Times Literary Supplement (London)
Welcome to the Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, containing every page of every copy of the TLS published from 1902-2008. The Times Literary Supplement contains book reviews, essays and poems.
- Tobacco in History and Culture (Gale)
A two-volume survey of how tobacco became one of the most important commodities in the history of world trade and the source of one of the biggest public health concerns in modern history. Presents 136 alphabetically arranged entries on all aspects of tobacco. Illustrated with graphs, charts, drawings and photographs. For high school and college students as well as general readers.
- TopicSearch (EBSCOhost)
TopicSearch is a current events database covering social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms.
- Trading Economics
Trading Economics provides its users with accurate information for 232 countries including historical data for more than 300.000 economic indicators, exchange rates, stock market indexes, government bond yields and commodity prices. Our data is regularly checked for inconsistencies and based on official sources; with the World Bank, the International Monetary Fund, central banks and national statistics bureaus being the most important. TradingEconomics.com has received more than 20 million page views from more than 200 countries.
- Translation Tools
Tools to help you translate from one language into another.
- Twenty-First Century Education (Gale)
Highlights the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates any student obtaining a degree in the field of education ought to have mastered for effectiveness in the 21st century.
Back to TopW
- Wall Street Journal Eastern Edition - (Digital Microfilm Version)
Wall Street Journal newspaper with full-text from 2008-2012. Provides PDF full-page version of newspaper. Click Select under item to display and choose Wall Street Journal, then enter a date range to display pages.
- Wall Street Journal Eastern Edition - (ProQuest, 1984- present)
Provides access to the premier business newspaper in North America, with backfile coverage to 1984.
- WorldCat (FirstSearch)
WorldCat is the online OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other material. It allows you to search the holdings of other local libraries and well as libraries in other cities and states.
WorldCat is the online OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other material. It allows you to search the holdings of other local libraries and well as libraries in other cities and states.
- Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life (Gale)
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life covers cultural groups in Asia, Europe, the Americas and Africa. Each volume is organized for quick reference by continent, cover history, politics, customs, religion, education, human rights issues, teen life and much more for culture groups such as Kurds, Amish, Germans and more than 500 others.
- Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices (Gale)
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices provides information on current religious practices around the world with an emphasis on how religions impact the daily lives of their followers.
- Worldmark Encyclopedia of U.S. and Canadian Environmental Issues
Covers the environmental issues for each U.S. state and Canadian province. Essays include an introduction that describes the geographical and geological features of the state/province, information on how global climate change could affect the state/province and its inhabitants, information on natural resources, energy, Green Economy, Green Jobs, and Green Building, and a special section that covers a major environmental topic in each state/province.
Back to TopZ
Zanran helps you to find statistical data on the web. This is the numerical data that people have presented as graphs, tables and charts.
Back to Top